ClassCreator.com | Blockbuster sites, amazing reunions

Share Tips

New Topic Subscription Options  

announcement option removed

Forums: Suggestions and Feedback
Created on: 04/17/13 12:41 AM Views: 890 Replies: 4
Wednesday, April 17, 2013 at 12:41 AM

I guess I wasn't paying attention recently. I notice that, now, when I post an announcement, the option is still there to let members know 'a new announcement has been posted', but ONLY to members who subscribe to wanting that information. I don't think that's fair !
For 2 years I've used the homepage as a podium to encourage alumni to come back again and again in order to excite them about attending the upcoming reunion (now over). I've paid monthly fees, solicited funds, paid the domain fee, paid for some who couldn't otherwise attend, paid to get on sites to find missing classmates, etc...
NOW, only those who decide to get notices will get them. It should be up to an administrator to decide who gets what notice in the their e-mail. Alumni are sometimes apathetic enough without now being able to choose not to receive notices. I think it should be at least the option of the "announcer" who sees her announcement.
Am I totally wrong about this/??! Please consider my dilemma. I can't be the only one who feels this way.
Barbara

Reply
Wednesday, April 17, 2013 at 8:55 AM - Response #1

Barbara,

It hasn't changed in function. That checkbox (if checked) would always only send the e-mail to those who subscribed to be notified from the NOTIFY ME page. It never sent an e-mail to every classmate in your website. The display now shows how many classmates will receive the e-mail if you choose to send it through the Notify Me option. You can also now click on the number and see who has subscribed to the Notify Me for that page.

You can change the default value of the Notify Me check-box on the PREFERENCES, Advanced Options section.


Reply
Wednesday, April 17, 2013 at 9:14 AM - Response #2

Sorry about that. I see you're right. Thanks.
Barbara

Reply
Wednesday, April 17, 2013 at 1:47 PM - Response #3

I notice today that an e-mail on an updated link on the Home Page only goes to those classmates who have subscribed to notification through Notify Me. How can I change that option to notify everyone?

Reply
Wednesday, April 17, 2013 at 2:54 PM - Response #4

Donna,

It has NEVER gone to everyone. It has always gone to those who signed up to be notified that the announcement or home page contents have changed.

If you want to notify everyone, you must do it through the EMAIL THE CLASS feature.


Reply
New Topic  
Subscription Options: Have all new forum posts sent directly to your email.
Subscription options are available after you log in.