ClassCreator.com | Blockbuster sites, amazing reunions

Share Tips

New Topic Reply Subscription Options  

Changing Home Page

Forums: Questions and Answers About Building Your Site
Created on: 06/10/09 09:53 AM Views: 1349 Replies: 1
Wednesday, June 10, 2009 at 9:53 AM

I want to change a few things on my home page, but when I hit source code, I can't tell where one of my items ends and where the next one starts, so I am afraid to delete anything.

I want to put a skin on my playlist, but it took me forever to get it on in the first place so I really don't want to mess that up. Does anyone know where I might get a Jukebox skin?

Also, I want to move my weather to the bottom of the page.

I am a novice at this and the last time I changed the home page, I had stuff everywhere.

Wednesday, June 10, 2009 at 12:13 PM - Response #1

Welcoem to the world of being a Web Designer. You don't have to be a Web Designer to use Class Creator, but as soon as anybody starts getting into source view and tweaking html code and third party code and things like that, you're officially a Web Designer. Smile

So having said that, I have two recommendations for you Web Designers who are working "under the hood" so to speak:

1) Google "html tutorial". There are many terrific free tutorials out there. Most can be read in an afternoon -- it's really quite easy. Knowing just a few basics can be a big help when you're working in Source view.

2) We're going to build in a system that auto saves the last 5 or so versions of your page so you can quickly restore if you make a mistake, but until that comes you should do this:

A) Go into edit mode for your page and click the Source button
B) Press Control-A to copy all code
C) Paste the code into Notepad or any other text editor of your choosing. Make sure it's a straight ASCII text editor and nothing else (the built in Windows Notepad is a great choice). Save your code as a back.