Share Tips

New Topic Reply Subscription Options  

military service recognition

Forums: Questions and Answers About Building Your Site
Created on: 07/27/09 01:26 AM Views: 1569 Replies: 10
Monday, July 27, 2009 at 1:26 AM

I received this message from one of my classmate:

"Hi Joe,
Just a quick question..how come I do not get a flag next to my name for military service...I was activated during Operation Enduring Freedom and spent 15 months at Walter Reed Army medical Center..even though I am still an active reservist I am a veteran as well...thanks"

Can this person have two flags by their name?
Thanks, Joe

Monday, July 27, 2009 at 1:36 AM - Response #1

Most likely the Classmate needs to go in and add the branch of the military he served in his Profile. Tell him to do this:

1) Click Edit Profile on the left navigation
2) Make sure all info in the military section is complete

Doing this will cause the flag to appear next to his name. When you mouse over the flag on the Classmate Profiles page, the branch of the military served will pop up. No, somebody who has served the military can only have one flag next to his or her name, not 2.

Monday, July 27, 2009 at 1:47 AM - Response #2

So if she wants the American flag,her reserves info should be deleted and only her active duty entered?

Monday, July 27, 2009 at 2:14 AM - Response #3

Hi...
It makes no difference if you are Reserves or Active Duty...There is plenty of room to enter the information in the space on Preferences, and she can indicate dates of service. I think most just put the branch, but there's room to be specific.
One basically becomes a Vet once they have served, so no need for more than one flag. We even had a mom enter her son's service in the box, and i left it, because the family serves also. She did indicate that in the box also though.
Thanks again to all who serve and who have served.
A reminder that Freedom isn't Free.

Monday, July 27, 2009 at 2:45 AM - Response #4