ClassCreator.com | Blockbuster sites, amazing reunions

Share Tips

New Topic Reply Subscription Options  

Automated Birthday Greeting

Forums: Suggestions and Feedback
Created on: 10/19/12 08:18 AM Views: 1590 Replies: 12
Friday, October 19, 2012 at 8:18 AM

Under Preferences, we can elect to send automated 1:1 emails to classmates who, say, haven't updated their profile in six months. Is there any way to automate a *private* birthday greeting to a classmate on his/her birthday? Just a 1:1 happy birthday greeting from the Class to an individual classmate...no blast announcement to the class that so-and-so has a birthday...just a private, automated email wish for a happy birthday.

Friday, October 19, 2012 at 11:19 AM - Response #1

There is no mechanism on the site for that purpose.

Friday, October 19, 2012 at 11:23 AM - Response #2

ERIC Why Not?

Friday, October 19, 2012 at 11:29 AM - Response #3

I have been asking for this for 2 years. It is something that can be used to encourage a classmate to update his/her profile.

Friday, October 19, 2012 at 11:29 AM - Response #4

I like Bill's idea. If warmly worded, it would be a nice way to privately recognize the recipient and doesn't sound all that difficult to program. Hope CC considers adding it to their future list of toggle on/off options.

Bob

Friday, October 19, 2012 at 12:16 PM - Response #5

Seems impersonal to me, but I'll add it to the wishlist.

Friday, October 19, 2012 at 12:40 PM - Response #6

actually it has been longer than 2 years, Brad Switzer wrote the following to me on 1/4/2010 regarding this subject. We are now 3 months from it being 3 years ago.

"Several enhancements to the Birthday module are coming this year. All ofthem are currently marked medium priority to allow some other more pressing stuff to get done first, but it'll definitely be coming up later this year."

Friday, October 19, 2012 at 1:05 PM - Response #7