ClassCreator.com | Blockbuster sites, amazing reunions

Share Tips

New Topic Reply Subscription Options  

Question on Profile Update

Forums: General Discussion
Created on: 09/14/14 06:34 PM Views: 1072 Replies: 8
Sunday, September 14, 2014 at 6:34 PM

I was reviewing some pages and I came across something puzzling. What exactly is the difference between the first two items below

Should the first item read "allow only registered Brothers..."? Only registered, signed in people can see Profiles in any case, correct? I find wording confusing.

Reply
Sunday, September 14, 2014 at 6:52 PM - Response #1

There could be other websites from your "school" that have their own websites. The first option is if you will allow the ClassConnections Facebook App to access if they are from your website. The second option is for all other from your "school" if they are allowed to view your profile. For example, single year (non alumni websites) have their own year. The first question is if their own classmates can see their profile. The second is if other classes from the school can see their profile.


Reply
Monday, September 15, 2014 at 9:31 AM - Response #2

Kyle,

I am now even more confused. One of my sites (this one) is a Fraternity Alumni Association. It is not listed as a multi year site (although I can't get ride of the 2012 appearing in my name here). There are no other "classes", if you will from this "school".

My second site is for a High School class where other classes from this school are on Class Creator and Class Connection in addition to our class. I thought I had set something up where other classes from our school could not see our info. However, I now can't find where I might have done that, nor how I would get to another class' Class Connection page.

You said "The first option is if you will allow the ClassConnections Facebook App to access if they are from your website." Does this only apply to ClassConnections? And this would only be people who are registered at my site?

You then said "The second option is for all other from your "school" if they are allowed to view your profile." Does this mean those from other classes at my school could view my profile - whether or not they are registered at my site (say - as a guest)? This does bot seem to fit with my first Fraternity site.

If I do not allow people to see profiles at my site(s) if they are not registered, why would I allow them to see them via ClassConnections?

And finally, on a non-ClassConnection site the first option of "Block Profile Visibility: Block the public and search engines from accessing my Profile and allow only fellow Classmates to view my Profile details. Leave this box unchecked if you also wish to allow the public (friends, co-workers, family members, etc.) to view your Profile details." was quite intuitive and left no question that they would not be found on the internet. I don't see where that comfort of not being found is implied in the ClassConnection site's choices.

The wording is very confusing.

*******************UPDATE

I apparently made this more confusing Embarassed I see I was logged in here under my high school class. I thought I had been logged in under the Fraternity Alumni site which is http://www/pktalphagamma.com. Sorry about that. Both sites have ClassConnection.

Reply
Edited 09/15/14 9:35 AM
Monday, September 15, 2014 at 9:41 AM - Response #3

Barbara,

I am not understanding your last entry. Did you have a specific question or has it been answered?


Reply
Monday, September 15, 2014 at 11:03 AM - Response #4

My Update or the entire post? The update was only because I thought there may be confusion that I was replying under a different site/user.

My question(s) are as stated in my post.

Reply
Monday, September 15, 2014 at 8:59 PM - Response #5

Now to add to my confusion....I had a new member register today. He is only registered at the website and apparently not yet at ClassConnection. When I look at his Profile through Manage Classmates, his shows the "old" choices. Do the choices change when you sign up for ClassConnection? I don't remember making these choices when I signed up for it. I'm just looking for a way to explain to all what these mean and if they aren't feeling their info is secure enough I may need to turn off ClassConnection.

I hope you can enlighten me.

Reply
Tuesday, September 16, 2014 at 7:46 PM - Response #6

Yes, the choices are different only if the person is signed up for ClassConnection.


Reply
Tuesday, September 16, 2014 at 9:10 PM - Response #7

So, I don't recall. If I first registered at the website and then later signed up for ClassConnection will I get a Profile update page telling me about changes I need to make? If not, how would I know?

Reply
Wednesday, September 17, 2014 at 4:54 PM - Response #8

Just confirming what Kyle has already stated -- everyone (including the admin) has the "normal" options if they are not part of the Class Connection app. Once they join Class Connection enhanced privacy options appear.

Yes, when you join the app, one of the "Next Steps" items is to review and update your privacy settings.


Reply
New Topic Reply  
Subscription Options: Have all new forum posts sent directly to your email.
Subscription options are available after you log in.