Tuesday, February 2, 2010 at 5:57 PM - Response #1
The answer is "Maybe it will mess things up on your site and maybe not". It all depends on if the files are linked to or displayed on any pages. If they are displayed somewhere, after you delete the image, the "Red X" will appear where the graphic is supposed to be because now the browser cannot find the image. If the files are linked to, when someone clicks on the link, they will get a broken-link message (page not found).
I am not sure about grandfathered sites, but when storage goes over the limit a new link will appear in the File Vault to purchase more storage (I think it takes you to the SUBSCRIPTION link and lets you purchase more storage).
Check out this link for an explaination: