ClassCreator.com | Blockbuster sites, amazing reunions

Share Tips

New Topic Subscription Options  

Adding Admins

Forums: Questions and Answers About Building Your Site
Created on: 10/29/18 09:23 AM Views: 551 Replies: 4
Monday, October 29, 2018 at 9:23 AM

QuestionOK. I have a well established site that I have been administering solely for several years. There is a wealth of information there.

I now have a group who would like to have administrative rights and slowly transition to taking over the full administration.

Several of these people have IT background. What does anyone suggest as the best/easiest/fastest way to get them up to speed on how everything works together? I can give them admin rights for updating and closely monitor what they do. I fear losing historical information.

Suggestions? Thanks much.

Barbara

Edited 10/29/18 9:24 AM
Monday, October 29, 2018 at 11:05 AM - Response #1

I'd suggest adding them in one at a time, then have a session with each one by phone while you walk them through the admin functions. You can each click on the same page and function while you discuss it.

It may take an hour or two to go through everything, and more than one session. You could create a test page or two on which you experiment adding photos and text and making changes. That way, you won't alter current pages until you and the new admin are confident in what the new admin is doing.

Tuesday, October 30, 2018 at 11:18 AM - Response #2

Thanks. I was afraid of that and trying to avoid it but I guess it's the best way. How is it that most of us learned on our own without this type help? Maybe because CC has become so much more robust?

Tuesday, October 30, 2018 at 11:49 AM - Response #3

We learned through trial and error, and by contacting CC if we couldn't figure it out, and by using these forums.