ClassCreator.com | Blockbuster sites, amazing reunions

Share Tips

New Topic Subscription Options  

ADMIN CONFUSION

Forums: General Discussion
Created on: 09/28/13 01:19 PM Views: 820 Replies: 7
Saturday, September 28, 2013 at 1:19 PM

Several questions:
I have a student who was given Admin rights. She made her account long ago and the email address associated no longer exists. As an Admin, I went to her info so I could manually change her email address so she could do a "forgot my password" to access her Admin account. As Admin, I do not see her email address field, but do on all other accounts..

Second item is I see and account WebsiteRoot - Amin
Not sure what this is and if "Amin" is to be "Admin". Is this an account that is created by the host, or someone in our Admin group?

As you can tell... I'M CONFUSED....

Saturday, September 28, 2013 at 7:33 PM - Response #1

I'm not 100% sure of the following since I'm not a root. I think only the "WebsiteRoot" admin can change an admin email address. This field is not accessible by the other admins since doing so exposes a site to non-root admins being able to do things they shouldn't be doingCool For example, by changing the root email address one could temporarily lock them out of access and actually log in as a root admin.

I ran into the exact same issue when one admin changed his email address and asked another admin to change it just like you are. The solution I used is listed at the end.

This restriction makes perfect security sense to me. I suppose it could be an option in the case where a root takes a vacation, admin has no clue what his old email address was and we need to do this. We can always post here or call CC to fix too though. Just mumbling here.