ClassCreator.com | Blockbuster sites, amazing reunions

Share Tips

New Topic Reply Subscription Options  

Uploading photos

Forums: General Discussion
Created on: 04/06/17 02:28 PM Views: 906 Replies: 6
Thursday, April 6, 2017 at 2:28 PM

I am an admin and when I try to upload a photo from the desktop (jpeg format) to "post a comment" all I get is "Uploading ... 100%" for hours at a time and nothing ever shows up. When I try e-mail the class and select "image" I get this error message " ('CFX_ImageCR Exception', 'vGetFindData failed for file: "d:\\inetpub\\classcreator\\temp\\B&W
Joyce:Skip 0943.jpg"')

I am using an iMac and Safari (also does the same for Firefox). I have successfully uploaded pictures in the past.

Skip Osborn

Thursday, April 6, 2017 at 3:29 PM - Response #1

Usually that means the image is not really a JPEG. Some programs can figure this out (by examining the file header) but CC gets an error.

Or to put it another way, the filename suffix does not reflect the actual file format. The way this happens is saving an image using a suffix different from the actual format. For example a .PNG is given a .JPG suffix.

JPG = JPEG, PNG and GIF are the three most common image formats but there are also others.

You might be able to attach it here so we can see - not sure if the forum will handle but easy to test.

Edited 04/06/17 3:30 PM
Tuesday, April 11, 2017 at 2:46 PM - Response #2

The problem was the punctuation in the filename. Namely the & symbol. I use a Mac and OS-X allows most characters in filenames, where Microsoft has severe limitations. It would have been handy for the error message to identify this. After removing the "&" it loaded the pictures normally.

Thanks to Jessica from Class Creator Support.

Tuesday, April 11, 2017 at 3:30 PM - Response #3
img&test.png

Except & is a perfectly fine character in Windows too. The problem is probably that the upload program gets confused by the &, not MS.