ClassCreator.com | Blockbuster sites, amazing reunions

Share Tips

New Topic Reply Subscription Options  

Home Page Visitors

Forums: Suggestions and Feedback
Created on: 05/14/13 06:54 PM Views: 1899 Replies: 12
Tuesday, May 14, 2013 at 6:54 PM

Hi there:

Is there a way to change the "home page visitors" count to "log ins"? Or maybe just add this feature? It seems that the "home page visitors" count is very skewed because as an administrator, I go to the homepage many times per visit to the website which would mean that each time I go there to see if something looks right, etc, it would add a visit to the counter. And many others who visit the page are likely to go to the homepage many times rather than just hit the navigational links. A "log ins" counter would just count each time someone logs in. I think this information would be more helpful as a statistic. Sorry if this is a repeat question. Just a thought.

Thanks,
Jana

Tuesday, May 14, 2013 at 7:03 PM - Response #1

That number also wouldn't be accurate because you don't have to log out of the website. If you use the KEEP ME LOGGED IN option, your classmates don't ever need to re-login, so they wouldn't be counted.

Wednesday, May 15, 2013 at 11:12 AM - Response #2

This verbiage from the Statistics page explains how the counter works. It appears to me that what Jana is looking for is already provided via the data in the graph.

* The home page counter has a 24 hour time clock (cookie). This means if a visitor accesses your home page over and over again in a 24 hour block of time (which is typical when browsing around your site), they are only counted 1 time. If the same visitor returns to your home page after 24 hours, the visitor is then counted again 1 time. This 24 hour time clock was put in place to provide a good assessment of the actual number of visitors your site is receiving as opposed to counting every single hit to your home page, which provides a distorted view of actual visitors.