ClassCreator.com | Blockbuster sites, amazing reunions

Share Tips

New Topic Reply Subscription Options  

Allowing Other Class to Join Your Site...

Forums: General Discussion
Created on: 07/02/11 11:22 AM Views: 2021 Replies: 13
Saturday, July 2, 2011 at 11:22 AM

Hey Everyone,

This just came up and I wanted to get your take on it.

I've been building our class website (1977) for a couple of months now and we officially launched the site on June 9th. So far we have 102 members signed up. This morning, someone from the class of 1978 found our site and has requested to join because she knows many people in our class and would like to get in contact with them. Has this happened to you? What is your policy on this?

Thanks for listening.

Best,

Edited 07/02/11 11:23 AM
Saturday, July 2, 2011 at 12:49 PM - Response #1

That's a really good start. Pat yourself on the backWink

Yes that has come up (and a very similar question as to who can come to the reunion). The answer is somewhat interesting. I personally always welcomed anyone related to the class to join us since that's how one gets the word out. (That's from long exposure to web "marketing" and being in business.)

The initial reaction to that sort of question from our committee changed over time. At first, it was negative. Then as they got more comfortable with how the site worked (fears of privacy were the #1 issue) more and more relaxed the "rules".

So it all depends on the makeup of your group and comfort level. You may want to revisit this after running the site for a while. Getting our committee to actually visit the site was-is a challenge. Once they see how it works, decisions changeIdea

Saturday, July 2, 2011 at 6:28 PM - Response #2

Jack is correct. It is a compliment. You will find that those that "want" to be a part of your site are often the most wonderful additions to the "party"!