ClassCreator.com | Blockbuster sites, amazing reunions

Share Tips

New Topic Subscription Options  

Deleting profile vs making it inactive

Forums: General Discussion
Created on: 01/03/17 10:33 PM Views: 1131 Replies: 5
Tuesday, January 3, 2017 at 10:33 PM

We have a member who for some reason has asked us to remove him from the web site. I hate to delete him in case he changes his mind in the future. I don't see an option to just make his profile not viewable and therefore inaccessible to him. Help!

Reply
Tuesday, January 3, 2017 at 10:50 PM - Response #1

Hi Lynn,

You can make a profile not appear on the class list under Manage Classmates > Enter/Edit Classmates > Details page for that classmates and then choose to not display on class list. Did the classmate ask that their profile not appear or to no longer be involved in the website. If they no longer wish to be involved they may be looking for their login and details to be deleted. You may need to clarify this further with the classmate directly.

Jessica
Class Creator Support


Reply
Saturday, February 17, 2018 at 10:11 PM - Response #2

We have a class member who has asked to be removed but would like to have the option to rejoin at some time in the future. Once deleted, can the class member re-join the site?

Reply
Saturday, February 17, 2018 at 11:37 PM - Response #3

Rick, it looks like you have the names of your classmates pre-loaded on the Classmate Profiles page. If so, after deleting the classmate, as long as you reenter his/her name on the Classmate Profiles list, the classmate may rejoin your site.

To remove the classmate: Admin Functions > Manage Classmates > Enter/Edit Classmates > click the Delete button at the far right side of the classmates's name.

Then, reenter the classmate's name on the Classmate Profiles page: Admin Functions > Manage Classmates > Enter/Edit Classmates > Add New Member > Fill in first and last name.

Reply
Saturday, February 17, 2018 at 11:54 PM - Response #4

Got it. Thank you!

Reply
Sunday, February 18, 2018 at 9:45 PM - Response #5

Kinda depends on why your member asked to be 'removed'.
You could simply make him a 'hidden' member. He would still be able to log in, view profiles and restricted pages, but nobody other than an admin would be able to see him - on the class list or view his profile.

He could still get notify emails (or not, depending on how he set his Notify Me options). And could still post a comment in someone else's profile, send a private message, or even post a message on the What's New page - but I suspect he would not do that if he wished to stay hidden.

Hidden members can't even see their own profile. But it will return intact if/when you again made him an active member or guest.

Reply
Edited 02/18/18 9:57 PM
New Topic  
Subscription Options: Have all new forum posts sent directly to your email.
Subscription options are available after you log in.