ClassCreator.com | Blockbuster sites, amazing reunions

Share Tips

New Topic Reply Subscription Options  

reset password

Forums: Suggestions and Feedback
Created on: 10/18/11 10:32 PM Views: 3551 Replies: 21
Tuesday, October 18, 2011 at 10:32 PM

Hello, I know this has probably been asked and asked again, and I am too lazy to look for the answer. I am fairly new to this world of technology. But tell me as an administrator how can I reset a classmates password, they forgot.

Tuesday, October 18, 2011 at 10:51 PM - Response #1

You don't need to reset it. Just log out of your website, go to your home page, then click FORGOT PASSWORD and paste in their e-mail address.

If you decide to reset it, go to Manage Classmates, then Enter/Edit Classmates, then click on the DETAILS for the classmate and change their password.

If the classmate hasn't joined your website yet, tell them to click on Classmate Profiles, then click on their name, then click JOIN HERE and follow the instructions.

Monday, January 2, 2012 at 2:39 AM - Response #2

I was very surprised to read that this was possible. Why is Class Creator storing users' passwords instead of well-salted hashes?

This puts users at great risk, because most folks re-use the same passwords at multiple sites. They shouldn't, but they do. We all know this.

Password databases are stolen all the time (see Stratfor, Sony, Gawker, etc.). If Class Creator gets hacked and password files are stolen, my less-savvy classmates could find many of their important accounts (email, banking, shopping, etc.) compromised.

Class Creator can and should protect its users from themselves. If I don't see a commitment to address this soon, I'm probably going to blast a cautionary message to the class. I'm reluctant to do this—it will surely scare a good number of folks off of the site—but I feel that it would be irresponsible of me not to.

Edited 01/02/12 12:07 PM
Monday, January 2, 2012 at 10:17 AM - Response #3