ClassCreator.com | Blockbuster sites, amazing reunions

Share Tips

New Topic Reply Subscription Options  

Adding an RSS Word of the Day Feed to your Website

Forums: Questions and Answers About Building Your Site
Created on: 02/16/17 04:27 PM Views: 3984 Replies: 38
Thursday, February 16, 2017 at 4:27 PM

This is my first try at adding an RSS Feed to import new material daily to my site. I'm sure there are other programs out there that may work better, I'd appreciate any suggestions, but this works and I thought someone else might use this as a starting point.

To add an RSS Feed, you need a program to create the the Feeder.  I used Feed.Mikle.com and it was Free at the time this was prepared.  I wanted to insert a Word of the Day on our website and after trying several, settled on Merriam Webster   This is the RSS feed URL that I inserted on the Mikle.com Creator Page.  

Once you have stepped through the creation process, click "Save and Get Code" on the Mikle site.  Copy the top code (Java script) (there is an option at the bottom to click to get iFrame Code, but JavaScript works on both Webpages and Announcements and does scale for the Responsive Design (Mobile Friendly).  

Creating the Program is a little complex, but you can't break anything and your Results Display along side so you can do a trial and error.  

This will not answer all your questions about how to use the Mikle site, but perhaps this will help get you started with some of the more complex selections.  

First, select the Feed Source, options presented are Facebook and RSS Feed.  I selected RSS Feed.  The creator program will auto-populate an RSS feed URL, but you can immediately insert your own Feed Source.  To find one, Google "RSS Feed Sources."

The General Section permits you to select the Width and Height.  Inserting a PX (pixel) size will Set that specific Size (Width) on your web page.  Select "Responsive (Mobile Friendly)" IF you're using that design.